El Salvador is located to the southwest of Central America and on the coast of the Pacific Ocean, being the only country of the region that not has coast on the ocean Atlantic.


El Salvador borders to the North and North-East with Honduras, to the West by Guatemala, to the South with the Pacific Ocean and to the Southeast by the Gulf of Fonseca, It separates it from Nicaragua.


El Salvador is a Democratic Republic; the President exercises his position for five years and cannot be re-elected.
The Spanish LANGUAGE is the official language. It English is spoken in almost all the areas tourist.


Curiously, Despite the fact that El Salvador is the smallest country on the continent, It is also the most densely populated in Latin America. The population is of approximately 6.9 millions of inhabitants who are grouped into three ethnic groups, the settlers of European descent make up seven percent of the population. The mestizo, a mixture of European descent with indigenous,constitute the 90 per cent of the population. The Salvadoran indigenous people represent the 3 percent.


The extension territorial of El Salvador is of 20,740 km2


El Salvador is a country of tropical climate, small changes in temperature. Rain determines the succession of its two stations: the dry, that goes from November to April, and the rainy, that goes from mayo to October. The average temperature is 29° C and 19° C low.


El Salvador has direct international dialing services, as well as also services of fax, telex, cable, radio, television and internet. The international country code is 503.


The Department of migration requires that the tourists have one of the following documents (both need to be accompanied of the Passport). The first is a visa of tourist extended by an Embassy of El Salvador, that it will be in effect during the time of validity of your Passport, about a year. Visas are free for us citizens; for some other nationalities there is a fee.

The other document is the tourist card, that is available for $10 and it can be purchased at the point of entry into the country. Usually extends by 90 days. Requirements vary depending on the nationality of the visitors.